Where are the Galapagos Islands?

The Galapagos Islands are a group of islands in the Pacific Ocean off the coast of South America. They belong to a country called Ecuador.

Post Image

The Galapagos Islands are made up of 18 main islands, 3 smaller islands and over 100 islets. 

Around 35,000 people live in the Galapagos but they only live on 5 of the islands. The largest island is called Isabela.

The islands are famous for their unique animals that cannot be found anywhere else in the world. They are home to giant tortoises the size of bathtubs, huge lizards that look like dragons, Galapagos sea lions and blue-footed boobies, a bird which has blue feet!

Post Image


Did you know?

  • The only mammals on the islands are rice rats and two types of bats.
  • Many giant tortoises of the Galapagos are nearly extinct. 'Lonesome George' was one of the most famous. He was the only surviving giant Pinta Island tortoise left on Earth. He died in June 2012 at the age of 100.
  • There is very little fresh water in the Galapagos Islands.