How many seasons are there?

Each year we divide the months into four main seasons: spring, summer, autumn and winter. These seasons are important for animals and plants. They let them know if they need to stock up on food, produce fruits or flowers, or move home. They’re also important for teachers and children to know when school finishes and the summer holidays begin!

Some parts of the world, like the North Pole and the South Pole, only have two seasons. Tropical places near the Equator (the middle of the Earth) also have two seasons: a wet season, where it rains a lot, and a dry season. Did you know when it is summer in the north it is winter in the south?

Post Image


The four main types of seasons

In the Northern Hemisphere there are four seasons. Each season has something special. 

In springtime, daylight increases and the weather usually gets warmer. Plants begin to flower and many baby animals are born.

Summer begins on the longest day of the year. It has the hottest weather of all the seasons. Trees grow fruit and young animals grow and become stronger. Summer has the most hours of daylight and the strongest light from the Sun. This is why we have to be careful and not look at the Sun for too long.

Post Image

Even if we are wearing sunglasses, the light is so powerful it can damage our eyes.

In autumn or fall, the days become colder, leaves change colour and fall from the trees, and some animals start collecting food to prepare for the long winter months.

Winter begins on the shortest day of the year. The weather gets colder and it snows in some places. There is less daylight and some plants and trees stop growing. Animals, like bears, go into a deep sleep called hibernation, they find warm places to hide and sleep until the winter is over. They can get very angry if they are disturbed while they are sleeping!